Skip to main content

Recording a Deed

Deeds should be recorded in the Office of the County Clerk of the county in which the real property being transferred is located. When recording a deed, it is your responsibility to take the proper steps to ensure that the document meets the legal requirements for recording. Please be sure to consult an attorney if necessary.

Deeds presented to the Sullivan County Clerk's Office must have original signatures and must be acknowledged in accordance with New York State Real Property Law. A completed Real Property Transfer Report RP-5217 (which must be completed online) and a signed Transfer Tax Affidavit Form TP-584 must accompany each deed. Please see the Fee Schedule for detailed information.

The fee for a deed is $45 for recording, plus $5 per page. A cover sheet is generated by the Sullivan County Clerk's Office and recorded as part of the deed. Please see the Fee Schedule for detailed information.

There is a $10 notice of transfer fee added to all residential deed recordings. (On December 12, 2019, the Governor signed into law an amendment to Real Property Law Section 291 that requires County Clerks to notify the owner(s) of record of residential real property when a document is recorded affecting said residential property. The law also allows a reasonable fee to be assessed for said notices. The NYS Association of County Clerks, in order to provide uniformity throughout NYS, has determined that $10 is a reasonable fee per document.)

This fee will apply to property class codes 200-299, 411-C and 411-D on the RP 5217 form. For information on property class codes, go to

Transfer Tax

New York State Transfer Tax is due at the rate of $4 per $1,000 of the cash consideration or fraction thereof.

Mansion Tax is imposed on each conveyance of residential real property when the consideration for the entire conveyance is one million dollars ($1,000,000) or more and the premises is being used in whole or in part as a one-, two- or three-family home, or a condominium. The tax rate is one percent (1%) of the consideration.

Please see New York State Department of Taxation and Finance for detailed information.