Sullivan County Head Start, Inc.

Board of Directors Meeting January 14, 2010

I. Call to order

Charles Davis called to order the regular meeting of the S.C.H.S. Board of Directors at 5:35 p.m.

II. Attendance

The following persons were present: Charles Davis, Gladys Walker, Kulli Kask, Meta Sorge, Della Rodriquez, Sylvia Diaz-Kohloa, Anthony Perito, Bertha Williams, and Yvette McIntosh

III. Approval of minutes from last meeting

Minutes read. Motion made by Anthony Perito to accept minutes of December 10, 2009 meeting. 2nd by Sylvia Diaz-Kohloa- Motion carried.

IV. Open issues

- a) Signed contract to purchase 397 State Route 52 Woodbourne on 12/18/09.
- b) Hired 5 staff with EHS ARRA funds. Will begin to enroll children for new EHS classroom in Waverly. Also begin to enroll 10 pregnant women.
- c) J. Irace, Architect is working on schedule with renovations.
- d) Planning Board meeting for special use permit and public hearing on 397 S.R. 52 building is scheduled for tonight at 7 p.m. at senior citizen building in Fallsburg. The architect will represent us.

V. Executive Directors Report

a) Monthly report was presented and reviewed. Attendance for December was 79% falling below required 85% due to illnesses. Anthony Perito moved to accept report, 2nd by Meta Sorge Motion carried.

VI. Financial Report

a) Sullivan County Approved budget for Head Start \$51,300. Board must approve resolution. Mita Sorge move to approve resolution for the County 2nd by Gladys Walker Motion Carried.

VII. New Business

a) Election of Officers – Mita Sorge moved that all officers remain for another year. 2nd by Sylvia Diaz-Kohloa Motion carried.

- b) Meta Sorge moved that Sylvia Diaz-Kohloa be elected Assistant Secretary. 2nd by Kulli Kask Motion Carried.
- c) Gladys Walker moved that Meta Sorge be elected Vice Chairperson 2nd by Anthony Perito Motion carried

Thank you note from Karen Cooke and family expressing thanks to the Board and staff for the kindness shown in the recent passing of her mother was read.

VIII. Adjournment

Sylvia Diaz-Kohloa moved to adjourn meeting at 6:30 p.m.

Minutes submitted by:

Gladys Walker